Monday mundane and reflections on the internet

Not my week…

Yes, no Kiwi vlog in that round, but on his Communities we voted on one of those sad results thus:

And one more:

So maybe I was not the only one caught out last week. The next round is truncated because of the State of Origin absences…

Always messy to tip…. Hence my little embellishment — and it is Round 13 after all!

My order arrived betimes:

So yesterday’s lunch was especially good.

Woolies chicken schnitzel (grilled), onion gravy, veg.

Yesterday one of my 1959 Sydney High classmates emailed me about my cousin Beverley Whitfield (RIP). He had read the Australian Dictionary of Biography article about her.

On returning home [from the 1972 Olympic Games], Whitfield was honoured by a cavalcade from Wollongong to Shellharbour. She continued to compete, winning her two events at the national championships in 1973 and 1974 and claiming two silver medals at the 1974 Christchurch Commonwealth Games. At the world swimming championships in Belgrade in 1973, she had failed to win a medal. In 1975 she lost her two national titles and her desire to compete. She retired and began to work with troubled youths. Known as the ‘Girl with the Golden Heart’ (Heads 2019, 156), she brought to her work at the Keelong Remand Centre, near Wollongong, the same qualities she had shown as a champion swimmer: humility, enthusiasm, and courage.

Whitfield never married. She was inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame in 1988 and the International Swimming Hall of Fame in 1995. The pool where she began her career had been named the Beverley Whitfield Ocean Pool in 1994. She died of heart disease on 20 August 1996 at home at Thirroul, and was cremated. The Shellharbour City Council established swimming awards for primary school children in her name and a park in the suburb was also named after her.

And all true, I might add…. My classmate said: “No wonder you are so proud of her.” So I sent him a link to this blog post about her: 25 years ago I sadly returned to Wollongong.

When I reviewed that post before sending I noticed some minor layout problems with it, so entered the WP editor to fix them, an easy job actually.

Later I was checking my emails via my phone and looked again at the one I sent my classmate. To my horror it was actually open in edit mode, even though I had by then long logged out of WordPress on the laptop! But it meant that someone could get behind the scenes and do things not only to that post, but to anything on any of my WP blogs! The entire works were logged on!

Eventually I found how to log off WP on the phone, and on checking again all was as it should be.

The hole was not there for long, but I am sure careful not to repeat it! I will never share a blog post while my editor is logged in ever again!

*PS 5.30 pm: Perhaps that “hole” was visible on my own phone only… Still, glad I closed it!