My Tuesday 13th June 2023

A day in the life of an almost octogenarian footy tipster

Came the dawn.

There was the annual checking of smoke alarms and the building’s fire fighting equipment from 7 am, and my provisions from Woolies were due between then and 10 am. My smoke alarm works fine, and the Woolies order was slightly delayed from the initial estimate of between 7 and 8 but eventually arrived, all items delivered as per my online order.

So I now turned my attention to the important matter of footy tipping. Last week I was very successful compared with the week previous.

Round 16 is a reduced round due to Game 2 of the NSW-Queenland State of Origin series, Such rounds are always tricky. I made some moves I may regret, or perhaps they are inspired. Who knows? I always work from a profound lack of knowledge anyway!

I am via Facebook in a tipping competition in the northern rivers town of Pottsville, where my friend and former colleague Rosemary now lives. I have already submitted my tips via Facebook. Rosemary has commented:

……a couple of brave tips there! Your six winners last round took you to 141 points and, more importantly, back up to equal third place. The leader is on 151 and unless Cronulla find some consistency he is in trouble. He is a Sharks tragic and will never tip against them. The tipster on second and the one who is equal third with you have no such blind loyalty to the teams they support. Hence, with some judicious tips and a significant amount of luck, the bottle of Shiraz could still be yours!

I use as a bit of a yardstick the YouTuber I call the Kiwi Expert, because he is in New Zealand. He really is very good and makes excellent videos. I always look at them after I have made my selection. This round we disagree radically, but I did beat him last round!

Watch on YouTube

Then lunch. I am a Woolies spag bol addict….

And the protein for later in the week — I received kangaroo sausages, a Garlo’s lean beef pie, a fresh can of Irish stew and of course I have lots of sardines and salmon in the pantry.

There was a bit of a windy change in the early evening, so as I watched the rerun of Mastermind Australia on SBS I rugged up like the octogenarian I almost am… Early July for that…

And yes I did do some other things — reading, more TV, much Facebook and YouTube. Not a bad day at all.