My 1997: Elizabeth Street, Surry Hills

Thus the 90s:

24. 1988-1990 Rose Terrace, PADDINGTON
25. 1990 Gipps Street, PADDINGTON (chez PK)
26. 1990-1991 George Street, REDFERN (M, Philip & Michael)
27. 1991-1992 Little Eveleigh Street, REDFERN (just M)
28. 1992- 2010: Elizabeth Street, SURRY HILLS— THE RECORD!

Mostly at Sydney Boys High, but a most interesting diversion in 1990. See Random Friday memory 16 – among the Chinese.

Twenty-five years is a very long time, though as many septuagenarians would understand, quarter-centuries aren’t as long as they used to be. 1965- 1990 took, well, 25 years, but 1990-2015 has gone by in a matter of minutes!

wessex2

That was taken in winter 1990 on an excursion to Wollongong with my class of overseas adult students. The couple on the right are from Korea, as I think is the woman with the red bag – or is she Chinese? Blue umbrella is Zhang Rui from Tianjin in China (a scientist) and next to him another Chinese, Ding. The taller slightly older man is Bill Zhang from Guangzhou. Lovely man.

wessex3

Bill and I in Hyde Park 1990. He had been photographing the grass so his wife in China could see this wonder: apparently at that time great dollops of lawn were in his eyes quite an exotic spectacle.

Why these students? As I noted in another post where there is indeed another story too:

I in fact worked with Phil [Ainsworth] rather briefly, as in 1988 to early 1989 I was teaching in St Ives, in 1989 dealing with a range of personal matters and sometimes not quite with it, and in 1990 to early 1991 at Wessex College of English. I did work at High in Term 4 1989, and again from 1991. I saw a fair amount of Phil nonetheless and was there in the final stages when, sadly, AIDS-related dementia also showed itself at times.

This was Wessex College in Wentworth Avenue Sydney in 1990. It was just upstairs from the job centre at the time, and that’s how I ended up there.

I am finding it hard getting my head round the fact that 1997 is now TWENTY YEARS AGO! I couldn’t locate 1997 pics on the SBHS site, but here is the staff photo for 1996. I seem to have avoided this one.

1996

In fact some of that year I was working at Sydney Girls High, as Tess Kenway (now a Facebook friend) may remember. I do recall very well the 1996 SBHS Debating Team:

96deb

That’s Dick Stratford in the middle, my fellow Dip Ed student in 1965, and Principal in 1996. All the debaters in that photo are now among my Facebook friends.

821587-craig-wing

And that’s Craig Wing from the Class of 1997, who went on to quite a Rugby career in Australia and Japan. Union and League.

But the personal high point of 1997 has to be this:

Did you see My Place (2009-2011)? Very good children’s TV. There is a teacher companion site.

On this website you will find rich educational material to support primary and lower-secondary teachers using the My Place TV series in the classroom. Explore background information, aligned with the My Place stories, on events and people significant to Australia’s history. Download clips and stills from the TV series, as well as teaching activities and student activity sheets that relate to current themes. Go behind the scenes with production information and interviews, or chat with other teachers and share stories in the teacher’s forum.

Imagine my surprise when I found my friend M, the one I mentioned in the Linda Jaivin post a few days ago, is in there!

ex226_010

See Celebrating citizenship, Sydney, 1997. A great William Yang photo – and I was of course at that party.

This asset reflects the enthusiasm with which many migrants embraced Australia, seeing it as their new land of opportunity – Australian citizenship was created on 26 January 1949 by the ‘Nationality and Citizenship Act 1948’ (later renamed the ‘Australian Citizenship Act 1948’); since 1949 more than 3 million migrants have become Australian citizens, with over 70,000 joining them every year; the granting of Australian citizenship to an individual requires certain commitments both from Australia and from the citizen and gives the person rights and responsibilities; not all migrants become citizens, with more than 900,000 opting instead to remain as ‘permanent residents’; ‘Citizenship Ceremonies’ are held across Australia, often hosted by local government councils in a town hall or another building of significance.

See also Linda Jaivin on Hou Dejian and NAPLAN craplan… And on M’s anniversary.

Now some glimpses of life on Elizabeth Street, Surry Hills. I lived in this building.

