Phone call from the Mufti

See my 2007 post:

Old friend

04 October

I introduce my old friend The Mufti of Watsons Bay thus on Who’s Who:

The Mufti was my neighbour in 1988-9 and has become a good friend who has helped me in many ways. Even he would admit to eccentricity. In some ways a total Tory, he shares my desire to see the back of John Howard. It is amazing who the Mufti knows: he’s even had afternoon tea with the Queen. He was an Anglican priest but reverted to Islam a couple of years ago. Not a terrorist.

Nor too strictly Muslim either now. He called in today. I hadn’t seen him or even spoken to him for possibly a year. In fact I had been feeling a bit guilty about that. But it turns out he has been overseas quite a bit: Zanzibar for one!  Looks tanned and terrific, especially for a man of 77. The Rabbit has met him.

And 2008:

Surry Hills 12: personal space

Posted on September 23, 2008 by Neil

Thought you should see where these pictures come from — and I am a messy person, and I didn’t clean up specially for your visit either, I’m afraid. This is what my lair looked like on this day.

pers4

The Mufti of Watson’s Bay gave me this screen for my 50th.

The screen now resides at M’s in East Redfern.

And see The Great Surry Hills Book Clearance of 2005.

Here is another I am keeping: The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying by Sogyal Rinpoche…

It is a book where I still have much to explore. I came to it because M in 1999-2000 was overseas for twelve months, and in the Christmas/New Year period he was visiting Bodhgaya in India, the holiest place for Buddhists. The Dalai Lama happened to be there, and M attended his teaching. In the next six months, The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying, in both English and Chinese versions, was M’s constant companion, and the difference it made in him is there for all to see.

My copy originally belonged to my friend The Mufti of Watsons Bay, who gave it to M to celebrate M’s return. M already had one, so he left this copy behind, and now it is mine. I treasure it for many reasons….

The reason for these reminiscences? Last night I had a call from the Mufti, whom I had not heard from for at least five years. He is in rude good health at 85 and still in Watsons Bay. He may be coming down to visit The Gong sometime soon.

CIMG4125

CIMG4131

CIMG4120

Around Watsons Bay March 2010

