What I saw in September 2008

Rebadging my “photoblog recycles”. These were originally on Ninglun’s Specials.

Thanks to Sirdan…

Posted on September 14, 2008 by Neil

I’ve just been given a digital camera. As soon as I have mastered it, you can expect some original content here. I see so many photogenic subjects every day!

Chinatown 1

Posted on September 17, 2008 by Neil

These were taken yesterday around 4 pm.

revpic7

Hay Street Chinatown, view from the Manning Building

revpic8

Surry Hills 9: The Northcott

Posted on September 20, 2008 by Neil

The most famous, sometimes notorious, public housing estate in Surry Hills is The Northcott; I posted on it in January 2007. When I visited Surry Hills Library yesterday I took the Casio.

revpic38

While their new building in Crown Street is under construction — due to be finished soon — the Library is working out of The Northcott’s Community Centre.

revpic39

Looking from the Community Centre back into The Northcott.

revpic41

View from the Community Centre into Ward Park.

Surry Hills 13: a dunny lane in Spring

Posted on September 24, 2008 by Neil

Just around the corner is Goodlet Street, which I will show you next time, and just behind Goodlet Street is Goodlet Lane, a dunny lane. That is, the original purpose of the lane was to enable access to the outside toilets, or dunnies, so that their noisome cans could be removed by cart. Many of the old dunny lanes have disappeared, but quite a few still remain.

Let’s walk along, noting first a native who just happened to join me.

goodletlane5

goodletlane6

Surry Hills 15: Goodlet Street 2

Posted on September 25, 2008 by Neil

Before continuing our walk around Goodlet Street, I thought I’d give you a closer look at those two nuns who walked into shot at the end yesterday.

goodlet11

That’s High Holborn Street they are walking up, towards their convent.

Chinatown 5: back to Belmore Park and Central Station

Posted on September 25, 2008 by Neil

It was a warm day…

25sept1

25sept4

25sept5

Yes, I saw that one in black and white…

