Photoblog recycle: August 2009

The Carrington Hotel, Bourke Street Surry Hills

Posted on August 30, 2009 by Neil

Quite a pleasant bar in Surry Hills. I’ve been there from time to time but my “local” is The Shakespeare in Devonshire Street.

CIMG3252

There is a much more famous Carrington in the Blue Mountains.

Lord Carrington was the Governor of NSW 1885 – 1890. Apparently he was nicknamed “Champagne Charlie”, so it is only appropriate a pub or two should perpetuate his name.

nla.pic-vn3640643-v

You could do a nice little production of Romeo and Juliet here…

Posted on August 27, 2009 by Neil

Balcony on a Surry Hills side street.

CIMG3239

Seen in a Surry Hills side street

Posted on August 22, 2009 by Neil

CIMG3250

Glebe: my home 1987-1988

Posted on August 8, 2009 by Neil

Here it is, and after that what I saw when I came out the front gate each morning. Just a few doors up in the other direction is the Forest Lodge Hotel.

049

050

Glebe: St Johns Road 10 – coffee shop

Posted on August 6, 2009 by Neil

When I was living in Glebe in the 1980s this was Roy Garner’s Coffee Shop – and left-wing bookshop. There I would go for the excellent coffee and healthy food, for conversation with the very interesting Roy, and soon also the band of local regulars for whom, as for me in due course, the shop was a virtual home. Such a mix was there, including a few genuine crazies – like the conspiracy theorist who always had with him a great folder of items about the Lindy Chamberlain case. It was there too that I met Kristina, mentioned in the previous post.

046

Glebe: St John’s Road 8 – The Nag’s Head Hotel

Posted on August 4, 2009 by Neil

In my earlier periods in Glebe this was reputedly a great place to plan a crime, but today it is quite up-market, though not off-putting. In fact it is a really great pub with a fine selection of beers and great food. The Rabbit and I had a couple of sessions there this century. 🙂

043

