Miscellaneous and health issue

I have added substantially to Linda Jaivin on Hou Dejian. Thanks kvd for highlighting the possible contradiction in the first version of that post.

Yesterday I took a problem that has been bothering me for a week at least to the doctor. A skin tag on my neck had been bleeding and was a nasty colour. It also stung. So the doc told me it was dying and he cut it out, sending the result for biopsy.

Skin tags are generally fairly harmless and quite friendly. Except for the cosmetic appearance, they essentially cause no physical pain or discomfort. These tiny skin growths generally cause symptoms when they are repeatedly irritated as, for example, by the collar or in the groin. Cosmetic removal for unsightly appearance is perhaps the most common reason they are removed. Occasionally, a tag may require removal because it has become irritated and red from bleeding (hemorrhage) or black from twisting and dying of the skin tissue (necrosis). Sometimes they may become snagged by clothing, jewelry, pets, or seatbelts, causing pain or discomfort. Overall these are very benign growths that have no cancer (malignant) potential.

So hopefully all is now well.

Finally, I used to have a blog on Blogspot. I stopped using it in December 2009, though there was one post in April 2010. Most of its content has been hoovered into my WordPress blogs. One example:

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Resting

CIMG3540

CIMG3541

Belmore Park, Sydney

