Lost Wollongong on Tumblr

As I mentioned yesterday, I have just discovered this version of Lost Wollongong. First, some earlier posts:

Lost Wollongong

Posted on August 30, 2013 by Neil

It is amazing how the Facebook Lost Wollongong group has taken off in the past few months. There are 7,804 members at the moment – the older Lost Sydney has 5,727, Old Sydney Album has 506, and Lost Gay Sydney has 5,684. Mind you Lost Wollongong could almost be badged “lost childhood” as a large proportion is given to school memories and items from members’ childhood years. Not that I object to that, especially as one who was a teacher in the area and whose father grew up down at Shellharbour.

But there are also some rather amazing bits of history surfacing through the group…

Mainly inspirational

Posted on September 12, 2014 by Neil

…On Monday I posted to Facebook: “What are the chances? I’m in City Diggers Wollongong today and chatting to Bruce who was at Keira Boys HIgh class of 1972. I have brought Baby HP to the club so we are on Lost Wollongong looking at a photo of Keira Staff in 1969. Bruce identifies one of his Maths teachers, also a sports coach. I recognise the name from my time at Wollongong High. And in that moment, literally, the guy himself walks past — that very same Maths teacher from 1969!”…

Now a few samples with nostalgic appeal from the Tumblr.

tumblr_nd0e1amCoj1td4mkno1_1280

“A Rutty’s bus slowly makes its way along a perilous Mount Keira road in the 1930’s.” I now live in Mount Keira Road.

tumblr_necp5yzcde1td4mkno1_1280

Many a time I saw sights like this! “A Thirroul-bound suburban passenger train at Unanderra in the early 1960s.” That’s a C30T by the way.

tumblr_nqy6vqw4f31td4mkno1_1280

“North Wollongong Beach in the early 1980’s. Photo thanks to Lost Wollongong member Michael Schurr.” I was living not far away in Church Street at that time – well, at least from late 1978 to the beginning of 1981.

