Changes in Surry Hills

I returned to Surry Hills yesterday and lunched with M and Max at the Japanese place we went to in October.

PA021261

On the way up Elizabeth and Cleveland Streets I particularly noted so many changes since I lived there last in 2010. Here is a shot taken in March 2009:

019march 016

None of the shops is the same now. The Chemist is long gone, but the Juice and Java much more recently. It is definitely closed, the coffee shop I so often frequented (living virtually above it) – along with Mr Rabbit and Bob Carr no less, and this guy in 2012:

Juice and Java Lounge, Surry Hills is quite possibly my new favourite coffee spot in Sydney – which is pretty high praise from a total caffeine addict. It doesn’t look much from the outside and the inside is a tad cramped with tables, but I assure you this place is a winner.

Located on Elizabeth Street not far from the corner of Cleveland, this little beauty does more than just coffee. As the name would suggest, Juice and Java sell a range of delicious sounding juices and also cater for your breakfast or lunch needs. Juice, coffee and food: this place really does cover all bases so is the perfect place to bring a group with different tastes or to come alone if you are just not quite sure what you feel like…

The staff are super friendly and it was lovely of the barista to check that I would in fact enjoy my ridiculously strong beverage, plus he wished me an amazing day! A bit of friendly service goes a long way and when coupled with amazing coffee and tempting food it makes Juice and Java a must try when in the neighbourhood.

And for the nostalgia here is another of my 2009 shots of the area:

Cornering the market

Posted on June 24, 2009 by Neil

CIMG2928

Formerly The Edge Cafe, but now teamed with Juice @ Java just up the road, so the same excellent coffee is on sale there, Belvoir Fish and Chips. Congratulations to Kiet and his brother for expanding during a recession, and for their very friendly customer service.

Also gone. Up in Cleveland I see a few of the famed Lebanese restaurants have vanished too, though many remain.

Back in The Gong around 6pm I called in at Diggers, then a bus home an hour or so later. The sunset presaged the hot day we would have today. It has already passed 30C.

PC181324

PC181325

