Photoblog recycle: December 2014

Still in the present: Redfern revisited

Posted on December 8, 2014 by Neil

The 2014 retro series will resume in a few days.

The next several posts will be photoposts about the weekend 6-7 December 2014. And a good one it was. Sunday I took the 7.45am express to Sydney, getting off at Redfern.

ddc13ae8-005a-4d6f-a3d7-6170b5114b2e

I hadn’t been to Redfern in quite a while. The immediate purpose of the trip was lunch with M at The Shakespeare Hotel in Surry Hills, but I decided, it being Sunday, to go early enough to attend South Sydney Uniting Church. I hadn’t been there for quite a while; I suspect this was the last time: South Sydney Uniting Church last Sunday. It proved a bit of a bonus because along with some old friends there were quite a few Indigenous Australian young people from Arnhem Land and Darwin down for some conference or other.

But on the way I paid another pilgrimage.

PC071065

Redfern Park

PC071067

PC071070

Yes, home of The Bunnies!

The past twelve months – 16 – October 2014 photoposts

Posted on December 22, 2014 by Neil

I recycled some favourites in the 30 October post This time in 2012 – can’t believe how time has gone!

Wollongong Harbour

There was quite a bit of wind in October: see this from my window, taken on 27 October:

And here I am in Mount Keira Road on 3 October. This also reflects one of the highlights of the month:

From 6 October I began a series with Revisiting Redfern/Waterloo – archivally — 1: “It has been a while since I was in the area in fact, so given yesterday I thought a peep back through some of my many photoblog archives would be in order.” Of course in December I did visit in reality. The last in this series was posted on 8 October. Here is one of the many images I recycled.

Redfern back lane on February 23, 2009

The new Wollongong Central Keira Street West building opened at last:

