Sirdan at the Shakespeare

Surry Hills yesterday. And let me say the Wollongong train both to and from Sydney was absolutely on timetable and not too crowded! So take that, Sydney Trains: a compliment.

Shakespearefrontbar

Shakespeare Hotel front bar

I was last there in July with M, when I wrote:

Yesterday I travelled up to Sydney, lunching in Surry Hills at The Shakespeare Hotel with M. $12.50 grilled barramundi and vegetables – excellent. M’s flatmate M2 came along – lovely man, former theatrical with a great fund of stories. It turns out he knew the late Stuart Wagstaff quite well, whereof (with other matters) we talked on over rather a lot of red wine after M left.

Yesterday after many a year I was there with Sirdan, who now lives in Queensland. He was passing through Sydney en route to a cruise commencing in Japan. B and later P joined us.

Sirdan and Mr R in the Shakespeare 2009: see I remember you well at The Shakespeare Hotel…

P9011239

Sirdan yesterday

P9011238

In the dining area

