Around Devonshire Street — 1

Yesterday I travelled up to Sydney, lunching in Surry Hills at The Shakespeare Hotel with M. $12.50 grilled barramundi and vegetables – excellent. M’s flatmate M2 came along – lovely man, former theatrical with a great fund of stories. It turns out he knew the late Stuart Wagstaff quite well, whereof (with other matters) we talked on over rather a lot of red wine after M left. So I travelled back on the 4.24 pm express, fortunately eight cars and not too crowded. Luckily a West Wollongong bus came along just after I got to Wollongong station, so I was home soon after six.

On the way to Sydney Central Station I tried to capture the afternoon light.

P7031192

P7031193a

P7031193

Speaking of Surry Hills, I had an email yesterday from a reader:

I stumbled across this page while doing family history research, and reading the comments raised many happy memories of life in Surry Hills in the 1960s… Met my husband at the CYO, married in St Peter’s Church, Devonshire St. His parents had the newsagency in Cleveland St, next door to the Turkish cafe on the corner of Young St…  The butcher on Cleveland St was where I first encountered the term ‘Halal’ – in 1961.

What would Cory Bernardi make of that?

