My blog archives 3 — Floating Life 4/06 ~ 11/07

This was my first blog on WordPress: Floating Life 4/06 ~ 11/07. That may seem strange given that its successor, Floating Life, has entries going back to 2005. You see, I had also had a Blogspot site, the entries from which I vacuumed into Floating Life.

2007 in review: #2 — best pics used here in 2007

29 DEC 2007

1. This one came from Creative Spark, an Oz in Singapore.

2. Forget where I found this:

3. This one came from The Poet:

4. So did this:

5. And this one from April 2007 of Sirdan and I with Lord Malcolm is sad, as he only had a few weeks to live; but check his smile…

John Baker’s questions

29 JUN 2006

If you are at all interested in writing, and enjoy good writing from a real writer, visit John Baker.

You may recall he asked five questions:

1. Why do you blog?

Because it is better than muttering to myself in the bathroom. Because I am addicted to teaching. Because I need to rant in Howard’s Australia. Because I have far too much time on my hands. Because writing is the best kind of thinking. Because “How do I know what I think until I see what I say?” (That was E M Forster, I think.) Because “I blog, therefore I am.” See also Reasons to journal.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
2. Which author and/or book has most influenced you?

See My canon. And it really probably is the Bible and Shakespeare. Sad, isn’t it?

3. Which three blogs do you most visit?*

Lately:

1. Thin Potations. It’s a habit, really. He’s been a bit slack lately though. [Since gone private.]
2. Ahmad Shuja: MyScribbles: Write-ups of an Afghan because he is refreshingly honest, amazing for a person of his age, and an Afghan, and can tell me about the Afghan cricket team.
3. Aluminium because she is an English teacher and used to be a Diary-X friend, oh for ages now it seems. (And she reads me too.)

Actually I visit all those blogs on my blogroll. Often. Including John Baker’s, obviously.

4. Why do you read fiction?

Some just for delight in plot, character and language. Some because they are more true than non-fiction. Some because they can take me into world-views and milieus I could never otherwise experience.

5. What makes you laugh?

Fawlty Towers, no matter how often I see it. The items in my Diversions links to the right. The fact that the majority of Australians still think John Howard is a really really good Prime Minister…

No, that last one makes me want to cry.

* 2015: None of these blogs is still active. Ahmad Shuja went to the USA. He has quite a profile nowadays, and a blog that was active up to last year: Afghanistan Analysis — Thoughts and such on Afghanistan (and Pakistan).

The most visited posts on Floating Life 4/06 ~ 11/07 since 2006 have been:

  1. Home page / Archives 66,349 views 2006 to the present
  2. Friday Australian poem #17: Bruce Dawe, “Homecoming” 23,073
  3. Two Australian poems of World War II 16,999
  4. Assimilation, Integration, Multiculturalism: policy and practice in Australia since 1966 1 13,993
  5. Teacher Pride Rules! 13,062
  6. John Howard: bullying expert extraordinaire… 7,955
  7. Friday Australian poem #3: A D Hope, “The Death of a Bird” 6,438
  8. Friday Australian poem #12: David Campbell “Men in Green” 5,649
  9. Ian McKellen and Judi Dench in Macbeth and segue into Mardi Gras 4,961
  10. Friday Australian poem # 6: Mary Gilmore, “Nationality” and “Old Botany Bay” 4,671
  11. Friday Australian poem #11: “Because” by James McAuley 4,169
  12. Book and DVD backlog 4,164
  13. Friday Australian poem #4: Judith Wright 4,089
  14. 3 — Indigenous Australians 4,030
  15. About 3,936
  16. Late Anzac Day thoughts 3,869
  17. Les Murray and The Widower (2005) 3,546
  18. Friday Australian Poem #5: Judith Wright “For a Pastoral Family” 3,274
  19. There are at least two movies called Swimming Upstream 3,069
  20. On the awkwardness (and fatuity?) of discussing religion 2,955

There are some posts there I am still proud of.

Total views to date: 328,902. The blog is currently averaging 35 views a day.

