Bruce Johnson 1954-2015

Diggers today.

P5271169

P5271171

P5271170

As soon as I came in today I heard that Bruce Johnson, a great friend in recent times, has passed away. We had some very memorable conversations.

Mainly inspirational

Posted on September 12, 2014 by Neil

…On Monday I posted to Facebook: “What are the chances? I’m in City Diggers Wollongong today and chatting to Bruce who was at Keira Boys HIgh class of 1972. I have brought Baby HP to the club so we are on Lost Wollongong looking at a photo of Keira Staff in 1969. Bruce identifies one of his Maths teachers, also a sports coach. I recognise the name from my time at Wollongong High. And in that moment, literally, the guy himself walks past — that very same Maths teacher from 1969!”…

So long ago! I was teaching at Cronulla High at that time, only moving down this way – Dapto High initially – in 1970.

Bruce was Captain of Keira Boys High in 1972, and a surfer.

w1200_h678_fmax (1)

Wollongong North Beach

Bruce was a real gentleman. He will be missed.

Update

There is a funeral notice in The Illawarra Mercury of Saturday 30 May.

One thought on “Bruce Johnson 1954-2015

  1. Pingback: Funeral for a friend, family, Thorpe | Neil's Commonplace Book

Comments are closed.