The past twelve months – 11 – more June 2014

On 2 June, politics.

I mean…

tonesbolt

The Devil must have made me do that! After all, Tony Abbott didn’t really say that on The Bolt Report, and I have no reason to think I know what Andrew Bolt might be thinking…. I am sure Tony Abbott is perfectly willing to go on #QandA —  he is just so terribly busy!

On the other hand:

Prime Minister Tony Abbott has courted controversy by linking a commemoration of the 70th anniversary of D-Day to his government’s policies…

Then Tiananmen 25 years on and Megafires, Tiananmen, and a sad #QandA on Monday.

There am I, third from the left, with a Japanese Christian and Mr Kim from Korea on my right, a couple of Indonesian Muslims, Rui from Tianjin China, two more Indonesians, a Korean, and another Indonesian on my left. It’s a long time ago now, and I have always been better with faces than names. This is just one group from the hundreds of students I came to know in 1990 to early 1991 when I ventured into the overseas student world. Most were those Chinese who had left their country in the wake of Tiananmen. Rui, for example, was a scientist…

On 8 June: I was alive on D-Day 6th June 1944 includes reference to my late uncle, Neil Christison. Then Fairy Sparkle and the Old Queen.

It was arguably one the biggest days in Wollongong’s history, with local dignitaries and thousands of spectators packed into the city centre to catch a glimpse of Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip during their visit in February 1954.

Now, 60 years later, the excitement of the day has been brought back to life, with original footage of the Royal procession, as well as memorabilia including maps, programs and newspaper coverage, being published online by the University of Wollongong Library.

The seven-minute film, along with original commentary, has been digitised and published by the UOW Library in time for the Queen’s birthday long weekend.

See also Lesley Coombes, A 1954 royal flashmob and my posts 60 years ago today… and Sixty years on – and mortality. I wasn’t in Wollongong that day, but my grandfather Roy Christison and I did watch the Royal Train make its way back to Sydney.

More nostalgia on 11 June: It was 50 years ago today! The Beatles in Australia. That post includes the story of my religious position at that time. On education, chaplains etc see 20 June’s Another week in paradise – 2 – and tradition reasserted by High Court.

On 23 June Over a Sichuan lunch on Saturday ranged over quite a few matters, mostly multicultural and replayed some very old blog posts from as far back as 2000.

How multicultural can you get, when you think about it. On Saturday I shared authentic Sichuan food at the Red Dragon in that quintessentially Aussie venue, a Rugby League club, with three Iranians – one PhD and two PhDs in prospect – and one Cambodian-German Australian. Conversation naturally went to the World Cup, which I have been rather casual about. But of course Iran was soon to play Argentina. I will let the Cambodian-German Australian (Mel) report the sequel:

Poor Iran had prospects of an honourable tie snatched from them in the last seconds of the game, resulting in grown men crushed and sobbing for the loss. What an emotional 90mins. I’m going back to bed!

P6180728

Yes, we had that hotpot again…

Mel also asked me if I still blogged, at one point. “Every day,” I answered and she looked a bit surprised. When I said how long I had been doing it she looked even more surprised…

24 June, and some appropriate reading for this centenary year of World War 1: The almost forgotten Andrew Fisher.

25 June: Wild weather, wild chaplains, wild verdicts… was indeed partly about the weather. This had been the scene the previous night here in West Wollongong.

As the month end neared I shared Some thoughts on Once Upon a Time in Punchbowl. Recent events make this all the more relevant.

