Mainly about rabbits…

How time goes! And how weird it is to have been blogging so long that my blog archives almost double as memory! Is such outsourcing of aspects, at least, of one’s life a form of prophylactic against dementia? Hmmm….

But to the point:

I posted that in April 2009 in Surry Hills. The mug I was presented with at Sydney High on my retirement. I still have it but the badge has faded badly over the five years. The bunny I found one day near Redfern Oval. Alas, he has vanished since my coming to Wollongong.

Of course, he represents the South Sydney Rugby League team (the Rabbitohs) who tonight meet the Sydney Roosters in quite an historic preliminary final.

Friday night’s preliminary clash between South Sydney and the Roosters will be the game of the year…

The two powerhouse clubs haven’t met in a final since 1938. That’s a shocking statistic when you consider the relative success of both organisations.

Grand final or not, I’m confident this game will be a blockbuster….

They got close last year, but fell over at the end, despite seeking extraordinary assistance.

And omens… 😉

I posted about the history of the club on that post last year.

Well, what will happen tonight? If last weekend’s final deciders  are anything to go by, it could well be by one point at the last minute or even in extra time. Folk at the Diggers Club do discuss such things and rather think that it will be the Bunnies by 1. Let’s see what happens…

And what happened?

10646925_10150432344309970_4036588893434593364_n

The Rabbitohs have booked a place in the 2014 NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final, defeating arch-rivals the Sydney Roosters by 32-22 amid emotional scenes from the mass of support from the Rabbitohs Family at ANZ Stadium.

5 thoughts on “Mainly about rabbits…

  1. Actually, now I think of it, Mr Whitehurst is in my memory more about Yeats and Lowell. But not much different…

  2. Oh, and Clive James was still around Sydney Uni when I started there, but way beyond my circle as I was a 16-year-old fresher at the time. But I do recall being rather terrified of Germaine Greer when I first spotted her in about 1962, After all, I was in the Evangelical Union at the time…

  3. Pingback: Go the Bunnies! | Neil's Commonplace Book

Comments are closed.